Greetings from Durham!

We have the internet at last so I thought I’d put up some of my photos from today! Me and Fi have been up here for two days now, and this afternoon we went to Newcastle with our friend Jonathan. It was good, I’ve never been there before but I’m really tired from all the walking we did now. Yesterday we went to Darlington and brought our other friend Hannah back to stay over with us, and tomorrow we’re off to York to meet Antonia, who was an absolute angel when I was living there.

I’ve been doing really well with food so far. We’ve been having dinner a lot later than I would usually so I’ve been attempting to be flexible and do stuff like swapping the times of my dinner and my evening snack around. My body complains if I go too long without eating, I get all cold and clumsy and confused so I’m just trying to listen to it and eat when I start feeling a bit odd, whatever the time is. I’m not weighing or counting anything but I do know that I’m eating more than I would at home. I’m fine with this – my weight has plateaued a bit recently so if this week pushes me past that then more for the better πŸ˜‰ and anyway, I’m on holiday! The only thing that’s getting to me a bit psychologically is my OCD around germs and things I’m allergic too, but I’ve been doing my best to ignore that and use all the cooking equipment and crockery in the house as normally as possible (it’s a student house that Fi will be moving into in October when she goes back to uni). I’m doing far better with the OCD than I did when I had to share a kitchen in York πŸ™‚ although I may have used up half of Fi’s washing up liquid in three days…I’ll buy you some more, Fi πŸ˜›

Anyway, photos from Newcastle!

This is Fiona and her car in front of part of the city walls in Newcastle

The gate into Chinatown

The Millennium Bridge and what I thought were some really interesting clouds (because I’m cool like that :P)

The ‘sea slug’ – a recently built concert hall with an unfortunate nickname!

The bridge again – you can’t see how curvy it is until you get right on top of it

The view from the bridge

Katie 033

Um…not Newcastle πŸ˜› these are the chips that Fi made earlier – we made some yesterday too, half sweet potatoes and half normal potatoes roasted in olive oil, chinese five spice, turmeric and paprika. They were really good!

Katie 034

I’ll probably be back tomorrow with photos from York πŸ™‚ I hope everyone out there is having a nice week!

9 responses to “Greetings from Durham!

  1. so proud of you for being flexible and living life to the fullest while on your vacation. best of luck with the rest of the trip! i know you’ll do great πŸ™‚

  2. Great pictures… it’s wonderful that you’re having a good time and allowing yourself to be flexible and enjoy it! πŸ™‚

    ❀ ❀

  3. Love the pictures!! Glad you’re having fun πŸ™‚ I know trips cause some anxiety. More spontaneity than normal. But, it sounds like you’re doing great!

  4. Yay! You had so much fun! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  5. SO excited to see you tomorrow! glad you are having a fun time, i lol’d at the ‘sea slug’ – my friends and i used to call it something a little less complementary (err.. tinfoil covered turd springs to mind, lol).

  6. Hey my love, exstatic that you are having an amazing time and sooo well done for trying to eat like a normal person and still keeping enough πŸ˜€
    Pics are great but it looks dam cold there lol. sweet potato chips…nom noms xxxx

  7. Lovely pics, Im really glad to hear your having a good time so far,I hope it keeps up.
    Having to eat your dinner later etc might help you to break some rigidity over meal/snack times when your back at home, if you struggled with that before. Im the same, I cant go so long without eating something, I just get grumpy then. I think Im pre programmed to eat at set times!

    I love the look of those chips, nice sounding spice combination.
    Have fun in York
    xox

  8. determinedtoshine

    So proud of you for facing these challenges Katie! Sounds like you’re having a wonderful time and I cant wait for a full recap of your trip. Keep smiling girl πŸ˜€
    xo.

  9. well done on facing the challenge of flexibility and beating ED’s a$$!

    Fi has a mini? omgosh, jeal.

    I hope the york trip goes well ❀ and that you can create some lovely, happy memories.

    L. x

Leave a Reply

