New camera!

Oops, I went on a bit of an unintended blog hiatus! I was just busy – I spent Friday tidying my spare room (thrilling), was with Jonathan on Saturday (or was that Friday too? Forgotten now!) and Tuesday, stayed at Fiona’s on Sunday (cause of hangover related status on FB! I am such a lightweight, d’oh), and used Monday to finish some counselling assignments. So yes, busy. Busy is good, I like it πŸ™‚

I have exciting news! Exciting for me, anyway. I wrote a guest post for Michele Rosenthal’s wonderful PTSD blog about eighteen months ago, and a couple of days ago I received an email from her saying that she wanted to include it in a book she was compiling from the blog. So yay, I get to see my name in print!

I also found my mini USB to USB cable and so have finally managed to get the photos from my new camera (read: my sister’s old camera) onto my laptop. I’m not going to put all of them up here – for a start there are 161 of them (!), but I am also saving some for a new page when I change blogs. I found my GCSE art work in amongst the stuff my mum brought up from home when she came to visit, so I thought I would take pictures of them and put them on the new blog. Some of them aren’t bad at all considering I was only 16 when I painted them. I wish I’d kept painting and drawing rather than leaving a ten year gap before I got back into it. Nothing I can do about that now anyway, other than continuing to draw in the present πŸ™‚

SO. Photos.

From my old camera phone – it’s very rare that I ever taken photos of my food (I would make the world’s worst food blogger, I would get bored very quickly!) but I wanted to include this as my favourite meal of the moment. I have been giggling at the craze for “socca” going around blogs recently, because I’ve been making wraps with chickpea flour for years! I didn’t even know it had a proper name. I tend to make mine from 3 parts chickpea flour to one part plain gluten free flour, because that makes them feel softer, more pliable and less like trying to digest a brick. And currently they always seem to get filled with olive tofu and fried chestnut mushrooms. It’s a crappy blurry photo so don’t be tempted to enlarge πŸ˜‰

And for good measure, a lovely sunset I took out of the window of the classroom I was working in at college on Monday evening:

And now on to the new camera…drool…

The first few photos are from when my mum and sister came to visit me. We went to Tynemouth, one of the coastal suburbs of Newcastle. It’s a beautiful little town with a ruined castle and priory…and a cafΓ© which sells gluten and dairy free cakes. Always good πŸ˜‰

The colours and lines are so much sharper with the DSLR! Yay πŸ™‚

The tombstones were made from a sandstone typical of Newcastle buildings, and so they had worn away around the letters over the hundreds of years they had been standing. The patterns were so fascinating!

The ceiling of a tiny chapel

The two lighthouses of North and South Shields, guiding ships into the mouth of the Tyne

Aww! I went on a walk with Jonathan last week and we saw these little lambs. I swear I only have maternal instincts for animals…

And just because I had my camera I made Jonathan go back to the shoe tree with me to see how it came out! I love this tree so much, I think it’s hilarious πŸ™‚

7 responses to “New camera!

  1. Oh, I love sheep! (Ahem, perhaps I shouldn’t say that too loud. I am grown-up.) I really like the last photograph of the tree. I kind of can get lost in it. Anyway, it’s good to hear that things are going well for you. I once was promised by my one of my professors that our seminars work, which was very project-like, would get published. It never was.
    I feel like my thoughts are not very coherent at the moment. So I just stop.

    Love

  2. “I swear I only have maternal instincts for animals…”

    Couldn’t be more with you on that one! I swear any vestigial maternal instinct in my brain is totally satisfied by feeding my dog twice a day. πŸ˜‰ Great pictures! I’ve never been to Britain but am dying to see it sometime, so much history, great landscapes, etc.

  3. Can I compete for worst food blogger?? All I do is occasionally talk about biscuits… (I swear I eat other food).

    I love that gravestone. Is that just due to erosion?? And now I want to go to Tynemouth to visit that chapel.

    As for baby animals…there are so many baby cows where I live (and I just blogged about the highland cow)…but really! Baby cows!!! Everywhere! And obviously this excites me because I am using way too many exclamation marks.

    Every time I hear (see?) the word ‘socca’ all I can think of is rugby balls. Though I have to say that yours looks very un-rugby-ball like, and actually really rather appetising. Nom nom nom.

  4. Oh! (see – distracted by baby cows),
    But congratulations on the publication thingumy πŸ™‚ That’s brilliant!
    xx

  5. Lovely photos πŸ™‚ The lambs are soooo cute! I have maternal instincts for animals (especially baby animals) too. I am more in touch with my animal side than my human side sometimes!

Leave a Reply

