Photograph of the week (1)

After taking 175 photographs this afternoon I decided that my blog really needed a regular photograph of the week post. So here’s the first, hopefully of many!

For the week March 28th to April 3rd – Clouds over the Sage

I’m not quite sure why, but the colours and lines in this photo really appeal to me. The clouds look almost cartoon-like. I like πŸ™‚

Runners up:

Durham (it’s the interesting clouds that make it. Can you tell that I like clouds?!)

The Sage and Tyne Bridge at sunset. I know the darker colours are rather “noisy” but I like the colours in the sky and the shapes of the structures, and goodness knows how that little crane in the distance fits into the picture – it looks like it’s perched on top of a building!

The Queen Elizabeth II bridge, taken from the High Level bridge. (Clouds!)

I decided to go out for a walk at around 6pm this evening, and after getting five minutes down the road I changed my mind, went home, grabbed some money and took the metro into Gateshead, so I could run around the Quayside taking pictures of the sunset. When I say run, I mean literally πŸ˜› I made it to four of the seven bridges over the course of an hour or so, as well as the concourse outside the Sage! So here’s my music to photograph sunsets on the Quay to: Godspeed You! Black Emperor – Sleep.

I am very glad to have appropriated my sister’s old DSLR. I can see us having lots of fun together πŸ˜‰

16 responses to “Photograph of the week (1)

  1. gosh, all of these are awesome!
    I like this addition.
    with care,
    Katrina

  2. I especially like the lone cloud over the Queen Elizabeth II bridge at sunset πŸ™‚

  3. That photo of the Sage is amazing: it looks almost as if it’s been created using a graphics program as the lines are so crisp and clean and the clouds are, as you say, like cloud-caricatures πŸ˜‰

    Love this new feature.

    xxx

  4. Just letting you know I’m here!!! πŸ™‚

  5. The Sage/Clouds photo is wonderful – it makes the building look even more bubbly and cloud-like! I look forward to seeing more photos in the future :-).

    x x x

  6. This first photograph is ingenious! The other ones are great as well. I like the Queen Elizabeth II Bridge one, particularly. You are really talented. I wish I could take photographs like these. Mine are crap most of the time.

  7. Those are all awesome photos, especially the first one. I’m sort of jealous that you live somewhere so… picturesque!! πŸ˜‰

    ❀ ❀

  8. You have a real talent! the sage one is awesome.
    from a new reader, Frankie xx

  9. Lovely!

  10. Pingback: Photograph of the week (2) | Giant Fossilized Armadillo

  11. Pingback: Photograph of the week (3) | Giant Fossilized Armadillo

  12. Pingback: Photograph of the week (4) | Giant Fossilized Armadillo

  13. Pingback: Photograph of the week (5) | Giant Fossilized Armadillo

  14. Pingback: Photograph of the week (6) | Giant Fossilized Armadillo

  15. Pingback: Photograph of the week (8) | Giant Fossilized Armadillo

  16. Pingback: Photograph of the week (9) | Giant Fossilized Armadillo

Leave a Reply

