Photograph of the week (7): The Late Shows

I was going to post some more Dorset photographs for this week’s POTW post, but they will have to wait until next week (urm, you could say that would be cheating on the concept of photograph of the week, but I made it up so I say it’s not ๐Ÿ˜› ) because I had SUCH a great time last night!

I love my city. I’m sure I’ve said that a thousand times by now, but it’s true. There’s always something to do or somewhere new to explore, and it’s just as easy to reach the countryside as it is the city centre. I think Newcastle is wonderful in general, but yesterday it surpassed itself! I went to an event known as The Late Shows, in which nearly 50 museums, art galleries and other cultural attractions around the city stayed open well after hours, mostly from 7pm until 11pm. They were all encouraged to hold events which were different to their usual function, and there were free open top buses between key points on the route as well, which was great because I’m feeling a bit poor ๐Ÿ˜‰

I was worried that the evening would be a flop to begin with. I originally intended to go with Jonathan, but when we got to the first museum (which was holding circus skills workshops) I was too shy to join in and he began feeling really unwell. So he went home and I kicked my own butt and told myself to grow a pair. Things started picking up as soon as I got on the bus, as four people dressed in 40s period costume were picked up at the next stop, and started accusing each other of being Nazi spies! Apparently the night before the same group of actors had been performing a murder mystery for the public to solve, and on Saturday night they wanted help catching traitors during WWII.

I decided to get away from the museums and galleries I have already visited and know well, so I went to Ouseburn, where several art studios were having open evenings. It’s a funny little area of Newcastle – an industrial estate under Byker Bridge which, as well as studios and a pub, is home to a farm. I visited the Mushroom Works first, in which there was a zoo-themed exhibition, then moved on to Hoult’s Yard, which was mostly centred around street art.

Created by street artist Roa, part of the White Walls exhibitionย of Unit44 (photo by me, sunset by the laws of physics, obviously ๐Ÿ˜› )

Once I had quit gawping I decided to walk from there to the main concentration of venues in Ouseburn, about half a mile away. While I was walking the sky seemed to be staging a competition with the artists:

I can’t decide whether this or the first photo is my favourite of the week – I think probably this one, since part of the attraction of the first is someone else’s art work! I actually think that wandering around an industrial estate made the sunset even more beautiful than it would have looked if I had been hanging off my favourite bridge like usual.

The first place I visited in Ouseburn was the farm. I have always been curious about it! They describe themselves as a “friendly farm and environmental visitor centre in the heart of Newcastle Upon Tyne”. Just for Cathy, I took a photo of some spotty lambs ๐Ÿ˜›

The farm had been my first priority as they were shutting an hour earlier than most venues, so next I wandered into 36 Lime Street, another set of studios offering workshops and viewing in which I had my heart stolen by a very cute (and pretty damn cheap considering I was buying it from the artist’s studio – ยฃ8) plate.

By westergaard designs.

After getting a bit lost I found my next destination: Northern Print. They were letting the public down into their basement where the printing was done, which was fun to watch. I got a free bird print too ๐Ÿ™‚ (still covered with tissue paper at the moment, must do a paperectomy soon!)

By this point it was about half past nine, so I walked up to my favourite art gallery in Newcastle, The Biscuit Factory, to see what they were up to. I had a look around their lower floor studios, which are not usually open to the public, then decided to catch one of the free open top buses. It was going round in a big circle so I sat on it for about forty minutes while it trundled around Newcastle and Gateshead, before finally getting back to Newcastle central station to catch my metro home at 11pm.

It’s 10.30pm. I’m on an open top bus. I have a late shows glostick. My inner 5 year old is happy ๐Ÿ˜›

That was the best evening I’ve had in ages! I can’t wait for next year – I might try to coerce Jess, elk and Sarah to come with me next time! I have plenty of room on my sofas for people to stay over afterwards… ๐Ÿ˜›

My regularly scheduled POTW will be back to normal next time ๐Ÿ˜‰

5 responses to “Photograph of the week (7): The Late Shows

  1. Your photos are always gorgeous. As far as the top three go, I like the bottom one the best too. It is both eerie and beautiful I think. But actually, I think that I am in love with the plate. It is so cute! Is it part of a whole cup/bowl/etc set or was it a one off?x

  2. Ooh yes I’d love to come to an event like this! I’m experiencing major location jealousy right now ๐Ÿ˜‰

    x

  3. Okay, so I think I recall hearing somewhere that those colors in the sky are actually caused by pollution, but… they’re so gorgeous!!

    โค โค

  4. Pingback: Photograph of the week (8) | Giant Fossilized Armadillo

  5. Pingback: Photograph of the week (9) | Giant Fossilized Armadillo

Leave a Reply

