Photograph of the week (18)

My camera and I didn’t get out much this week, but when we finally did we took 54 pictures of funny-shaped chimneys…

POTW August 22nd – 28th:

…and this one was my favourite. I love the scale and depth to it – in the other pictures the chimneys blended in with the houses and roofs, since they were similar colours. They looked very busy too, whereas in this one the busyness is not quite as intrusive. I really like the rooftop garden lurking in the background too!

This was a close second:

Because of the graffiti and the variation of the chimneys. I’m going to have another shot at the chimneys at some point, I was pushed for time when I was out and couldn’t explore them as much as I wanted to.

A rare occasion for POTW – half the photographs are portrait rather than landscape (orientation, not subject!). This is a picture of the beginning of my beautiful city, running uphill from the Quayside.

And finally, these clouds caught my eye as I was coming home from doing my shopping earlier today. I was right on the edge of those rainclouds! I love taking pictures of layers 🙂

8 responses to “Photograph of the week (18)

  1. Fun chimneys! I can see why you had a hard time picking the top POTW! I especially like the second picture, with the lines of all the roof tops seeming to line up on a point just outside the frame to the left. I haven’t ever particularly thought about layers in photos. That’s a cool little secret to think about. I can see them in all of yours!

  2. recoveringfree

    Your pictures are beautiful, my camera really sucks 🙂

  3. I like these… Much 🙂 One question: how did you get up so high to take them?

  4. Wow, so many angles on that first photo!

    The last one is my favourite: I love a good moody sky, and the edging on the cloud makes it look almost wave-like. I have a thing for images whereby for a minute you’re not sure whether something depicts the sea or the sky…

    xxx

  5. I can’t help but think of Mary Poppins… 😉

    ❤ ❤

  6. I love the third picture, I wish my city looked like that!
    Seems like its straight out of a movie. Stunning.

  7. Those rooftop photos are some of my favourite POTW’s, and the portrait view of Newcastle, oh and all of them actually!! You have a fantastic eye for composition and interesting subjects. I’m sure someone has suggested this before but I think a GiantFossilizedArmadillo photobook is in order at some point in the future…

Leave a Reply

