Photograph of the week (27)

It’s Monday! I am getting a bit lax with my POTW πŸ˜›

Photograph of the week, February 6th – 12th:

Yes, it is a photo of my bridge! I know I’ve obsessed over the bridge quite enough already on my blog, but I don’t think it’s ever been POTW, so I thought I would give it the spotlight this time πŸ˜‰

A close second this week:

I took this on a trip to Sandhaven beach at South Shields with Audrey. The next three pictures are from the same walk:

The birds, the birds! I quite like birds in general, but massive flocks of seagulls make me nervous. More for the “being crapped on from a great height” potential than anything else, although a seagull did once steal my pasty in Cornwall. The bugger.

Seagull the second.

It had snowed two days before our walk and there were still pockets of snow in the sand dunes.

One last beach photograph:

And finally, it was Audrey’s birthday yesterday, so I made her a birthday cake!

It was chocolate cake with chocolate chips and cherries, chocolate buttercream icing and crumbled meringue on top, with a fondant dragon. All dairy and gluten free, of course, so it’s not REAL buttercream, but the strong flavour of cocoa means that dairy free margarine works perfectly well in substitution. Plain dairy free buttercream is a bit minging πŸ˜› but chocolate is awesome enough to overcome the ming! I make awesome cake but had never sculpted anything out of fondant before – my mum and one of my sisters are quite good at it, but I used to be far too impatient and easily frustrated. It’s not perfect by a long shot (you can see all the stickiness where I stuck various dragon parts together with jam!) but I am quite pleased with myself πŸ™‚

4 responses to “Photograph of the week (27)

  1. I am extremely relieved to see a photo of a bridge, Katie πŸ˜‰ And it is a wonderful photo of a wonderful bridge.

    The cake looks very tasty.. πŸ™‚

    All the photos are great, but I especially like the one with the moon..

    xxx

  2. The snow in the sand is wonky-heart-shaped. And therefore incredibly sweet.

    The Bridge is Back. And therefore all is well with the world πŸ˜‰

    I don’t know about Cake Wrecks…is there a website called ‘Cake Rocks,’ because yours should totally be posted there instead (and I don’t mean rocks of the stone variety :P)

    xxx

  3. That’s a bridge? Fascinating perspective.
    The snow heart and the serendipity of its formation seemed so fitting (sorry about the pun) given that tomorrow is Valentine’s Day. I hope you and Audrey have a blessed day, Katie.

  4. I’m feeling quite out of touch with your news, (been internet-less for a while), but reading your posts make me smile and I’m so happy for you! All except for the icky tonsillitis. Hope it’s going away now and your EDAW activities are a success!

Leave a Reply

