March Update!

This will be old news to anyone who is friends with me on Facebook, but…

058

Me and Audrey got engaged last week! I asked her just before the Saturday night ceilidh at IVFDF, the folk dance festival she introduced me to last year. I’d been carrying the rings around with me for about 36 hours before I came out with it, hiding them in my coat pocket, then a pocket in my bag, then my purse, which I accidentally opened in front of her when we were buying coffee on the Saturday morning – eek! Apparently the brain only sees what the brain expects to see though, because she was very surprised and squeaky when I put it on her finger while we were walking up to the evening dance 😀

We won’t be getting married for a couple of years because a) we can’t get married until the government passes the Equal Marriage Bill (and it’d be a hassle getting a civil partnership then changing it to a civil marriage just a year later) and b) it’ll take us that long to save up, but I’m still really excited and proud to be  wearing my ring. Mine is the birds in the trees, Audrey has the dandelions. We are planning to have a joint engagement and house warming party soon though, as we moved house at the end of February, into a nice little flat without any other housemates. It’s had a few teething problems (broken toilet, broken boiler, leak under the sink, doors that wouldn’t shut…one day we will own a house, then all these problems will be our own fault/responsibility!), but it’s looking really nice now we’ve (mostly) unpacked. I’m feeling worrying grown up – cohabiting, engaged, working and being only four months shy of qualifying as a counsellor. Whatever next?!

I wish I had some photographs of IVFDF, but I was too busy having fun to remember to take any. One of the many reasons I’m a bit of a shite blogger these days!

 

16 responses to “March Update!

  1. Awww! I loved reading this news. Thanks for sharing.
    I wish you two a very happy marriage. I hope the laws change there soon.
    :->

  2. Fabulous. Congratulations. 🙂

  3. Well I’ve already said “Whoopee” and congratulations, but I’ll say it again to you and Audrey, because it’s awesome 🙂

    I’m really happy you found each other – and best of luck for the future.

    Please can I come to your wedding? xx

  4. So many congratulations to you both!

  5. Congratulations! Come to Canada and get married here if you save up before that bill gets passed. Sending you best wishes for a wonderful life together.

  6. a huge congratulations to you both : ) This is brilliant news! I have to say…I think those are the loveliest engagement rings I’ve ever seen (I’m really not into big shiny diamonds). They’re absolutely beautiful.
    x

  7. Congratulations !! What fantastic news =)

  8. I left you a comment; did you read it?

  9. Oh my GOD! I haven’t been on FB in ages and I thought I’d check your blog and I’m so happy for you both! Congratulations! 😀

  10. Congratulations! For me it has been far too long since I set aside time to enjoy your blog – but what a lovely surprise this is to come back to!

  11. Wow.. congratulations to the both of you. Here’s to a long and happy life together!

Leave a Reply

